BalanceTRAK > > Profile Management

JUMP TO: User Management

KEY TOPICS:

  • What are Profiles and How are they used?
  • About the Profile Management Layout
  • Define a Custom Profile (and set Default)
    • Edit a Profile Name (or Change the Default)
    • Edit the Default Profile Status
    • Delete an Unassigned Profile
  • Sample Profile Settings


Manage Software Permissions through Profiles

Note: The functions described in this article are for users with Administrative-level permissions; these functions may not display or be editable in your environment. If you have questions regarding the functions available to you, please contact your system Administrator or Berkshire’s Product Support, as appropriate for your role and organization.

The Profile Management module serves as the system's repository for software Profiles, which detail all of the possible roles users may have in balanceTRAK. Profile options available in this module provide an Administrator granular control over understanding and granting user permissions. While the Profiles installed during Implementation are typically sufficient, the definitions for existing Profiles can be edited, and custom Profiles may be created.

Navigate to the Profile Management module by:

  1. Clicking the System Tools icon in the software header.
  2. From the drop-down menu, selecting the Security / Profile Management link.

The bTRAK tab will display in the balanceWORKS > Profile Management environment.

What are Profiles and How are they used?

Profiles in balanceTRAK control how groups of users, typically by role, have access to software functions and data, on a spectrum from no access to full permissions to enter a function and view, edit, and delete data.

A default Profile is assigned to every new user when the user is added to the system, typically indicating the user has no access. At that time or at a later date, the Administrator may change the initial assignment to one that reflects how the user will interact with balanceTRAK. Therefore, the Administrator should become familiar with the existing Profiles in the system, along with information contained in this article.

About the Profile Management Layout

Example: The permissions to advance Job Seekers' Applicant Stage and Applicant Status can be applied independently. The HR Manager could be given permission to update either an Applicant Stage or Status. Meanwhile, HR Personnel could be restricted to viewing the Stage and updating the Status within that Stage.

Data Archiving, controls access to those functions by Profile. Typically, the Profile correlating to the System or Data Administrator will have permissions to work with Archive Settings, as shown by a checked box next to the tagline: Enable this group of users full access to Data Archiving.

Example: With regards to Applicant Disposition codes, HR personnel could be given Full Access to apply and edit all codes. In contrast, the Hiring Manager could be restricted to applying/editing codes related to the Interview, while being permitted to read codes applied by HR.

Define a Custom Profile (and set Default)

To add a Profile to the existing library, choose the [Add] button from the upper toolbar. On the Edit Profile menu, provide a name, and select a Default Access Level. Then, check off whether it will be the Default Profile (when a new user is added to balanceTRAK).

Click [Save], which will add the Profile to the Profile drop-down.

Note: Only one Profile can be the Default Profile.

Edit a Profile Name (or Change the Default)

To edit an existing Profile, select it from the upper drop-down, and click the [Edit] button. Update the Name entry.

To make the selected Profile the default when a new user is added, check the box for: Default Profile. The upper toolbar will also indicate the Default Profile by displaying a check mark.

Edit an Existing Profile

Select an existing Profile from the upper drop-down to display the current settings.

Navigate through the line items. Where necessary, click on the Access Level entry, and make a different selection from the provided drop-down. Click Save.

Quick Tip: If the Access Level entry applies to all Profiles, select Apply to All.

Delete an Unassigned Profile

Profiles that are assigned to a balanceTRAK user cannot be deleted. However, a Profile that is not assigned to any user may be deleted. Select the Profile from the upper drop-down to display it, then select [Delete].

Sample Profile Settings

Example A: The client-side Administrator wants to ensure that "Hiring Managers" (a Profile in the company's Implementation) send only authorized emails to Job Seekers. The Administrator would also like to make sure communications with Job Seekers are properly tracked. To check these settings:

  1. From the Profile Management list, select the Profile for: Hiring Managers.
  2. Navigate to the Administration tab, and locate the line items for Email Templates and Email Settings.
  3. For Email Templates, make sure only the box for View is checked.
  4. For Email Settings, make sure only the box for View is checked.
  5. If any changes are made to Administration, click the [Save] button.
  6. Navigate to the Job Seeker tab, and check the Communication settings to ensure that "Hiring Managers" can communicate with applicants. Boxes to View, Add, and Edit should be checked, while Delete should remain unchecked.
  7. Also on the Job Seeker tab, scroll down to the Functions table. The box for Email should be checked.
  8. If any changes are made on the Job Seeker tab, click [Save].

Example B: The Human Resources director wants to provide new permissions for "HR Staff" to add References to a Job Seeker's completed APPLICATION, but retain the limit on HR Staff to “view only” for the remainder of the Form. This user would:

  1. From the Profile Management list, select the Profile for: HR Staff.
  2. Activate the Job Seeker tab, and scroll down to the line item for Section. Expand the line item to show the detailed table menu.
  3. For References, check the Edit box.
  4. The Edit boxes for the remaining Sections should remain unchecked. (Only View should be checked for each Section.)

  5. Remember to [Save] the changes before exiting the Profile.